Report Child Abuse

Our Children Need You! Will You Give Voice to the Voiceless?

How to Report Child Abuse

Child abuse is a crime of secrecy, which is why it takes the entire community to protect our children. If you suspect a child is suffering abuse or neglect, you are obligated by law to report it. Rest assured that you will be immune from civil and criminal liability if you make an earnest report. To make a report call the Abuse Hotline, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, toll-free at 1-800-252-5400 or use the secure website.

If this is an emergency, please call 911.

If you or a youth you know are looking for peer counseling, caretakers or other support please call the 24-hour Texas Youth Hotline at 1-800-210-2278 or the 24-hour Texas Runaway Hotline at 1-800-580-HELP.

Remember, it often takes just one courageous adult to rescue a child from an abusive situation.

Signs of Child Abuse:

  • Unexplained injuries
  • Changes in behavior
  • Returning to earlier behaviors
  • Fear of certain places or people
  • Changes in eating
  • Changes in sleeping
  • Changes in school performance or attendance
  • Lack of personal care or hygiene
  • Risk-taking behaviors
  • Inappropriate sexual behaviors

Community Education:

Schedule a community awareness or teacher in-service training for your school, organization, business or professional group and learn how to identify abuse and the best steps to take to report it. Contact Outreach Coordinator, Amy Callaway, at 512-943-3701 or outreach@wilcocac.org.

Subscribe to keep in touch